Abra Wedding Destinations

Abra - The Philippines’ Natural Dye Capital

Abra takes pride in maintaining traditional dye-making and coloring using natural dye taken from barks, leaves, fruits, and roots of different plants. This old tradition was revived and supported by the government and several influential personalities from Abra.

Aside from the dye industry, Abra has several natural wonders which are unknown to most tourists.


1. Population - 2,856,765 (as of 2007 Census)
2. Land Area - 1,287.6 sq. km
3. Capital - Bangued
4. Language/Dialect - Ilocano, Tinguian, Tagalog and English
5. Divisions

Municipalities (27)

  • Bangued
  • Boliney
  • Bucay
  • Bucloc
  • Daguioman
  • Danglas
  • Dolores
  • La Paz
  • Lacub
  • Lagangilang
  • Lagayan
  • Langiden
  • Licuan-Baay
  • Luba
  • Malibcong
  • Manabo
  • PeƱarrubia
  • Pidigan
  • Pilar
  • Sallapadan
  • San Isidro
  • San Juan
  • San Quintin
  • Tayum
  • Tineg
  • Tubo
  • Villaviciosa
Famous For ...

Natural Dyeing
The province has an array of dye-yielding plants which are used by the locals to color textiles, cosmetics, furniture and other products.

Venerated by the locals, this stone formation symbolized the anito or spirits of their ancestors.

Places of Interest


Don Teodoro Brillantes Family Museum
A private museum which houses the collections and mementos of the Brillantes family, with a strong reflection of Spanish culture.

Location: Brgy. Dumayco, Penarrubia, Abra
In the hollow of a huge Balete Tree ( ) are sacred stones called “pinpinaing”. According to villagers, these stones symbolize the anito (spirits) of their ancestors.


Don Mariano Marcos Bridge
Location: Abra – Kalinga National Road
It is the third longest bridge in the country, with a total length of 886.812 linear meters.

Tangadan Tunnel
Location: Abra – Ilocos Sur National Road
Found between the borders of Abra and Ilocos Sur, the 40-meter tunnel serves as landmark for travelers and dignitaries.

Victoria National Park
Location: Bangued, Abra
The park is found atop of a hill, giving visitors an overview of the municipalities of Bangued, Tayum, La Paz, Pidigan, and Penarrubia.

Malamsit Calm Springs
Location: Brgy. Tingguian, Penarrubia, Abra
It is one of the province’s first privately developed resorts. It features a swimming pool with clear and calm water amidst ornamental plants and shady fruit trees.

Borikibok Resort
Location: Brgy. San Miguel, Bucay, Abra
It offers a cool, shady, cozy ground for picnic lovers; heart-shaped swimming pool; and dance and conference square under the shady atmosphere of trees.

Malanas Dam
Location: San Juan, Abra
A gravity irrigation dam that taps the water resources of Malanas River irrigating a sizable portion of the rice fields of San Juan.


Tugot ni Angalo
Location: Brgy. Kabaruyan, San Quintin, Abra
Tugot ni Angalo literally means “Footprints of Angalo". According to Abra Mythology, the giant Angalo is the First Man. His ‘footprints’ measure around 15 meters long, five meters wide, and ten feet deep.

Libtec Underground River
Location: Brgy. Libtec, Dolores
The underground river serves as a pathway to a seemingly empty cave but once inside, it is filled with stalagmites.

Kimkimay Lake
Location: Brgy. Taquib, Villaviciosa
According to legend, it was formerly a dwelling place of several tribes. Now, it is a favorite place for picnics, swimming, and fishing.

Abra River
Location: all over Abra
It is the biggest, longest, and most popular river among the numerous rivers crossing the valleys of the province.

Festivals ...

Arya Abra
Place: all over Abra
Date: March 9
In celebration of the creation of the province on March 1917 by virtue of Republic Act 2683, locals stage a grand cultural parade depicting their life; from the early pre-Spanish era to the present times.

Raniag Ti Abra Festival.
An ethno-cultural festival featuring the rich and colorful dances, rituals, and songs of the native tribe, Tingguians

Learn More

How To Get There?

By Land:
By Land Philippine local busses travel to Abra from Manila or Pangasinan while other take the Baguio - Abra - Manila route.